Enter your church building project for the 2019 Church Architecture Awards

Published: Monday May 20, 2019

If your church has opened a new extension, completed a re-ordering scheme or undergone a major repair or conservation project, enter it for 2019 Church Architecture Awards! 

Run by the National Churches Trust and the Ecclesiastical Architects and Surveyors Association, the awards celebrate excellence and creativity in church architecture.

There are three prizes up for grabs.

  • The Presidents’ Award is for the best new church buildings and new designs in church re-ordering, alterations or extensions.  It is awarded on behalf of the National Churches Trust’s Joint Presidents, the Archbishop of Canterbury and the Archbishop of York and the Ecclesiastical Architects and Surveyors Association President.
  • The King of Prussia Gold Medal is for the best church conservation or repair projects.
  • The Young Church Architect or Surveyor of the Year recognises the contribution being made to church buildings by architects in the early stages of their career.

The awards are open to projects including re-orderings, roof, spire or tower repairs as well as for extensions and new buildings.

The judges, who include HRH The Duke of Gloucester and the Revd Lucy Winkett, are always on the lookout for small projects, using specialist or innovative techniques, as well as major schemes.

Entering a project for the Church Architecture Awards is free!  If your project is shortlisted, you will be invited to the awards ceremony in a prestigious London venue on 31 October 2019.

Nominations can be made online by completing a simple form. Make sure you have good photographs of the project as that helps judges deciding which entries to shortlist.

The closing date for nominations is 1 July 2019. 

Leave a Reply

Most popular articles today: